South Australia

The South Australian Branch has a high level of membership, meets regularly throughout the year, and has an elected committee planning events and activities.

Members have been particularly active in opposing nuclear weapons, and by encouraging municipalities to support the abolition of nuclear weapons through Mayors for Peace.  Members have also been part of the successful international campaign to ban landmines. The Branch has strong links with other local peace groups, with members participating regularly in SA peace activities including Palm Sunday and Hiroshima Day celebrations.

Dr Amanda Ruler : Co-Coordinator:
Amanda is a practicing registered nurse and health science researcher who graduated from Bulli District Hospital in 1982. She then went on to complete a double major degree in Biology and Psychology from Flinders University, with an Honours degree in Psychology.  She then worked in regional South Australia , completing a Graduate Diploma in Gerontological Nursing. She completed a PhD in Nursing by research at the University of Adelaide , graduating in 2000. She has been working as a practicing nurse since , and is also an honorary adjunct Research Fellow at the University of SA . She has published widely.
Amanda is a very keen swimmer and is active in her church.
Her “best friend” is “Jonah” (the dog) who she acquired through the Animal Welfare League, of which she is also a very keen supporter.
Amanda is a National Vice President of MAPW (Australia).
Dr Robert Hall: Co-Coordinator:
Robert first joined MAPW in 1983, and joined the SA committee at the end of 2013.
Robert graduated in Medicine from Sydney University in 1978 and has worked in hospitals in Sydney and Alice Springs. In 1981 Robert undertook an MPH.  Over the last 30 years, he has worked in Aboriginal health in the remote NT and Victoria, and in public health at the Australian Institute of Health, the Commonwealth Department of Health, the SA Health Commission and Victorian Department of Human Services. Since 2008 Robert has been at the School of Public Health & Preventive Medicine at Monash University. He is chair of the Technical Advisory Group on Immunization and Vaccine-Preventable Diseases for the Western Pacific Region of the WHO.
Qualifications : BSc(Med), MB BS, MPH, GCHE, DipRACOG, FRACMA, FAFPHM,  a Fellow of the Public Health Association and Member of the Australian Society for Microbiology and of the Australian Society for Infectious Diseases.
Robert’s interests include bushwalking, sailing, boat building, reading, computing, astronomy and is a member of the local CFS.
Dr Jason Garrood : Treasurer :
Jason is currently as a semi-retired GP Psychotherapist at Stirling Medical Centre and with Dr Cate Howell and Associates Myrtle Bank. 
He previously served in the Royal Australian Army Medical Corps, then after further training worked 36 years as a GP in McLaren Flat, Mt Barker and Stirling.
Qualifications: M.B., B.S. , Dip Obs. R.C.O.G. ; F.A.C.R.R.M. and is a member of the Australian Society of Psychological Medicine
Jason involved with Doctors for the Environment, The Green Party
and interests include, spending time with his family, sustainable housing, electric vehicles, supporting various environmental organizations and oil painting.
Dr David Elder – Secretary
David Elder is a semi-retired Urologist practising in the southern Adelaide region. He graduated from Melbourne University in 1968 and spent a year in Vietnam in 1970/71. He trained in General Surgery and then
worked in the UK for 5 years during which time he sub-specialised into Urology.

Returning to work in Adelaide he completed training with research into prostate cancer at Flinders Medical Centre. He has a special interest in Andrology and has been involved in the teaching of Urological Trainees and also 3rd year medical students.

He has been a member of MAPW since the 1980s. He is currently involved with an Australia–wide group of doctors and nurses (Specialists Without Borders) who provide annual teaching seminars in Malawi and Zimbabwe.

Laurel Thomas – Committee Member

Laurel is a retired physiotherapist graduating in Sydney in 1967 and  living overseas from 1970-1975 where she specialised in spinal injuries. On her return to Australia, Laurel moved to Adelaide and in 1990 became involved with  I.C.B.L.  now Safe Ground. After 25 years she resigned from its committee and since 2015 has been a committee member of M.A.P.W. S.A. Branch.

In the 1980's Laurel fulfilled her dream and attended the S.A. School of Art at Uni SA and graduated with a number of degrees in visual art. Apart from the time spent in peace activities she visits art galleries (independent), attend artists' 'floor talks at these galleries together with concerts and lectures, in particular lectures given by the Hawke Centre.

Travel is also high on Laurel’s agenda.

Richard Kwiatek – Committee Member


Richard is a Consultant Rheumatologist in public and private practice, the latter including an Outreach Clinic in Loxton in the SA Riverland. A graduate of Melbourne University, he moved to Adelaide in 1990 to complete his training, but has been a member of MAPW since 1985. He was  motivated to be more active recently in MAPW after personally visiting the 1945 atomic bomb hypocentre in Nagasaki, Japan in 2016, which he found profoundly disturbing. He has a longstanding neuroimaging research interest in the functional somatic syndromes of chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia

If you would like to find out more about the South Australian Branch of MAPW please email the SA Branch at: sa [at] mapw [dot] org [dot] au